People are weird.

People are entertaining, plain and simple. Out of my many hobbies and projects people watching is simply one of my favorite.  There is rarely something more interesting then sitting in a public place and surveying all that goes on around you.

While waiting for my  ride today, I decided to go and grab a drink at a nearby Starbucks. Sitting in my little corner clutching my hot Creme Brulee Mocha, I glanced around to lock sight on a (honestly quite attractive… but probably gay) teenager.

His hipster glasses, which  framed his sharp jawline, sat crooked  on his face. His black hair looked slick with gel.  The look on his face told onlookers that he was completely enthralled in his book. To my amusement he was reading Alice in Wonderland. It was the exact same Barnes and Nobles- classic literature edition which I have sitting next to me on my desk at this very moment. Tell me, what strait man reads Alice in Wonderland in publicon purpose? He was pretty fruity if you ask me, not that there is anything wrong with that of course! Unfortunately, just not my type.

Across the room, a group of overly giggly teenage girls worked collectively on a psychology project. Their matching infinity scarves, UGG Boots, and serious use of the word “yolo” helped me to place them in early high school.

At the table next to me, sat the most adorable old couple I have ever seen. They were holding hands as they looked out the window at the busy street.  I overheard them reminisce back to their honeymoon in Florida. I guessed it may have been their wedding anniversary. As the  couple got up to leave, the elderly man leaned over to his wife whispering a few phrases. Although most of it was too quiet for me to hear, I managed to catch him say to her “… and you are just as beautiful as the day we married.” There, at that moment…in that specific Starbucks, my heart melted into a little puddle of mushy cuteness overload. Although I am usually able to keep quiet as I eavesdrop, a little bit of the “AWWW” that echoed around my head must have escaped my lips.  The couple turned in my direction and shot me an extremely sassy look that said, ” Yeah. We are the cutest old couple you’ve ever seen, huh?” It was literally a scene from your favorite romantic comedy.

I may not know where my future will take me, but at the end of the day (after the youthful side of me has had its fun) I aspire to have a relationship like that couple. Although you might think people watching is purely about others, you might be surprised how much deep shit you dig up about yourself in the end.

One thought on “People are weird.

Leave a Reply

