organized chaos

As a few of my followers might know, I not only run a blog but a newsroom as well. My job as Editor In Chief is to create organization among the chaos. The last time I left my staff alone for two days, they started to riot and throw a rebellion before nearly setting a few computers on fire.

My decision to become a journalist was partially due to the fact the media allows you to cut through all types of cliques to find a common purpose. On my staff this phenomenon is particularly true. Every single person brings a new dynamic to the group. The single trait which unites us unanimously is our eccentricity and ambition. Upon first sight, there have never been a group of young adults more diverse.

But upon closer inspection it becomes clear we couldn’t be closer. If anything, we are so close that we cause mental damage to any onlookers that dare enter our newsroom. The last outsider that decided to sit in on one of our meetings needed therapy. I’m not kidding….

Still, we should be given an award for diversity of political views and backgrounds. One staff member happens to amazing with technology but has difficulty with social interaction. The girl next to him happens to be the future captain of the cheer team. At the desk across the room lies the state champion rodeo queen. Next to her is a nationally ranked  photographer, also a member of the White House Press Corps. Our resident satire writer can go weeks without speaking a single word. Yet, when he does speak, the words which flow from his mouth are enough to move mountains with their impact (or shock factor really).

As you can imagine, the diversity in the newsroom leads to plenty of chaos and a decent amount of entertainment. Since my staff is like family. Its literally quite possible I spend more time with these weirdos then my own family. Because we are so familiar with each other, filters in conversation are rarely used.  Today as I walked into the  lab, my opinions editor had taken the liberty of starting a lively conversation about baby sloths and bi-gender Asians (supplemented with pictures broadcast on the overhead) right before we transitioned into coverage about the recent challenges to freedom of press. For a full functioning newsroom, I can’t exactly say that we pull off “serious” very well.

To be entirely honest, the humor of sticoms like the “Big Bang Theory” are dull compared to the shenanigans my staff and I embark upon.

Leave a Reply

