Aren’t migraines fun?

Around two o’clock this morning, I had the uncomfortable experience of waking up to an excruciating pain behind my left eye. My whole face had gone numb. The first thought which crossed my mind upon waking to this  pain was “Not again. Not today.” For several years now, I have the misfortune of experiencing occasional migraines. In a way, they have  become a ritualistic event for me.

Confused and disoriented, I stood up and quickly managed to stand up and walk to my bathroom cabinet, tripping over laundry, my cat, a few empty water bottles, and a desk on the way. For me it’s  a race against the clock. There is about a five minuet time span between the time I notice the pain, and when I completely lose consciousness.( When I say “lose consciousness,”  I literally mean black out on the hard cold floor. ) I use this 5 minuets to do everything in my power to minimize the pain and get into a comfortable place.

As I rummaged through my cabinet looking for my medication, my vision began to go fuzzy signaling that my time was running short. There is a certain  irony in this situation.  For those of you who have vision problems, I am sure you will be able to sympathize that it is very hard to read microscopic labels on various bottles when your world has gone completely blurry. It was at this moment when I remembered that I had stuck a large green label on the bottle for this exact reason. If I can manage to take the meds before this time frame has expired, it means that I will be spared from about five hours of extra pain.  Luckily, this time I was able to take a sigh of relief.

Waking up after getting a migraine are always some of the oddest experiences.  I feel a sense of relaxation and complete blissful calm. It is actually a very pleasant experience.

Yet on the other hand, it also feels as if any logic has completely fled my mind. It is as if my mind has been exchanged with that of a goldfish. It is like my mind has been reduced to mush. Even though all day has passed, I am still having trouble forming coherent sentences for this post. I also try to limit my social interaction in this state because  of my trouble with speech after a migraine. Once in a while I will unintentionally begin to slur my words. This is why I typically like to avoid school like the black plague when I deal with one of these monster -like headaches.

A little later on in the afternoon my day was much improved my the visit of a good friend. We managed to have a good time and slip in a few laughs despite my awkward morning. Luckily, I should be back to normal by tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

