Curse of the fangirl

There are a few actors who will never be unseen as characters of their most popular roles in either a TV series or movie.

While I was at the cinema today with my family, we saw a movie about Sherlock Holmes or Khan/Smog (depending on your fandom) recruit Elizabeth Swan, from Pirates of the Caribbean ,and Tom Bransen, from Downton Abbey  to build a machine that would screw over nazi Germany.  I understand from a random perspective this would sound absolutely bonkers, but I promise you that is exactly how I was forced to interpret the entire plot due to my obsessive fan girl brain.  In reality we only went to see the movie the Imitation Game starring Benedict Cumberbatch.

Being a fan girl isn’t easy. Every time you turn around there is a new imaginary hot man you will never get to be with. Plus, imaginary men ruin the real ones for you.  Real men simply cannot meet the romantic expectations that are put into heads by some fictional literary characters. Also, many people are confused by references that accidentally slip our of your mouth. I’m disappointed in you, Sherlock. Still, this is not the point.

The point is that I almost… almost felt guilty about sitting there, not fully appreciating the heart throbbing drama revealing its self before my very eyes. I was simply too busy debating the implications of the interactions of each character, drawing parallels to each of their stereotyped roles in my head. You should have seen the annoyance on my mother’s face when I asked her why John wasn’t there asking stupid questions to Sherlock Holmes the entire time. This may sound crazy, but I prefer to call it the curse of a fangirl.

One thought on “Curse of the fangirl

Leave a Reply

