college, culture, and an overall crazy weekend

To say the very least, this weekend has been odd one. Overall, I have gotten a total of six hours of sleep this entire weekend.

Starting out Thursday night, I set off to go explore a potential college.  I wasn’t sure what to exactly expect at an overnight campus visit. When I finally arrived, I parked and walked into place where prospective students were meeting  to find a group of five of the most awkward looking individuals I’ve ever seen. Luckily the night progressed to take some very entertaining and unexpected turns.

To be entirely honest, I expected more of a structured program carefully monitored by “adults.” Yet, by the end of the night I was hanging with wasted college students doing shots while we all played cards Against Humanity.

Immediately after being given a short presentation about “behavior” by an admissions councilor, we were stuck on a tour bus with a few current students as a guide and whisked off for an evening out in downtown Denver. We ate dinner at a place called bd’s where you pile raw food onto a plate, right before handing it over to a man at a giant round grill who tosses it up and cooks it with two metal poles slightly resembling swards. We then walked to get ice cream at a popular local hangout. One thing that stuck me about an evening at a college campus was the 24/7 access to food. That stuff was literally everywhere. After dinner and ice cream, we went back to find they had set out more for free food for students on the campus from food trucks as part of a “healthy habits” type campaign. Around two am, one of the students I was hanging with ended up doing a Voodoo Doughnut run for everyone. For those of you who aren’t familiar with Voodoo Doughnuts, they are pretty much the most delicious things  on the planet and therefor a famous Denver favorite for locals. I completely understand why “the freshman 15” exists now.

As the night went on, I met more people then I could possibly remember. It was odd to end up being so comfortable with people I have never even met. The atmosphere was so awesome, it seemed that (unlike high school) people did not care about cliques or pre-set social groups. If you were open to having a good time, they would include anyone. I chose to stay sober for a couple reasons, including that I did not actually know anyone around me and therefore did not trust everyone. Still, no one seemed to care and the easy going atmosphere was contagious.

My room mate and I ended up heading to bed around three am. Outside the window and in the hallway I could hear the drunk students returning from parties. But right as I was about to fall asleep, one of my roommate’s friends started knocking on her  door singing “Do you wanna build a snow man?” as loud as his lungs would allow. Beside the fact it nearly gave me a heart attack, when the door came crashing open from his weight, it was still hilarious. It turns out that her door did not always close properly.

After breakfast and a quick sample lecture from a college professor, the visit wrapped its self up. Driving back home, I realized that I only had two hours to shower and get ready before another awesome night out in Downtown Denver. There is something amazing about that city, so bright, electric, and modern.

I was meeting up with two of my closest friends and we had tickets to the Colorado Symphony Orchestra’s performance of Danny Elfman’s famous music scores in Tim Burton’s films. It was actually one of my friend’s homework assignment to go see the performance because her college professor was a member of the orchestra, and she invited us to join her.

As we walked into the theater, my friend said something which I will never ever let him live down. On display were lots of violins carefully hand painted with different scenes. All of a sudden he just randomly blurted out “look at all the mini guitars!”  It was so loud that people in a ten feet radius turned to look and give him angry glares. My friend and I were laughing so hard that we were barely able to give him a little friendly reminders that they were violins, not guitars. Once he noticed his little “blonde moment” he turned an nice shade of bright bubblegum pink. If he ever happens to read this post, he may never speak to me again. But I am willing to take that risk.

To be entirely honest, we looked damn fine that evening. Dressed like movie stars, we walked down the street laughing and having an amazing time as usual. We had no idea what an awesome treat we were in for.

That night I discovered an amazing violinist by the name of Sandy Cameron. To be entirely honest her skills rival those of the other well known artist Lindsey Stirling. As a violinist myself, I am extremely jealous of her skills as a musician.  Very few people are born with the natural ability that she has.

After the concert we drove back to my friend’s house and decided to jump in his hot tub and just hang out. The stars seemed unusually vivid and the cool breeze was relaxing. Perhaps that was my exhaustion mixed with a feeling adrenaline from the last two days, but that moment was perfect.

Today I stayed home to accomplish homework and cuddle with my puppy. Overall, I could not have asked for a better weekend.

Leave a Reply

