The night I saw (almost) everyone

Today, I have learned two very important things.

1) You can not win a fight against the universe. You must adapt plans no matter what they may be to include this so- called “plot twist” in your day.

2) Negative people absolutely useless and simply annoying.

Waking up this morning was a struggle. Stuck somewhere between dream land and reality I faintly noticed the sound of my alarm clock. From the moment I fully awoke there was a feeling in my gut that today would be an strange one.

At school, people seemed miserable. There was something in the air which I could not explain. Every time I turned around, someone was bitching about something new or attempting to drag me into their drama. Possibly the best decision I made all day was tuning out the world and deciding to listen to chill dub step. The moment I the nagging and whining were blocked from my ears, my mood seemed to boost by a thousand percent. Little things like the sunshine pouring though the window warming my skin and the taste of my strawberry smoothie became my main focus. All the people in the room seemed so unimportant and superfluous compared to the beautiful little details in front of me. A friend of mine always says “enjoy the little things.” Perhaps I did not truly verify the truth of his advice until today. If you can manage to rid your life of negativity, even for a little while, awesome results will ensue.

Earlier on this evening, I agreed to meet up with a friend for dinner. I truly feel pity for all those people out there with good friends of the opposite gender. No matter where you go, it never fails for someone to falsely identify you as a couple. Tonight, this person happened to be my boss. But after she asked us if we were a couple we say her two more times before the night was over. Did someone say awkward?

Living in a small town, no matter where you go, you are likely to see someone you know….But, tonight was simply over the top. When we decided to skip dinner since we both weren’t very hungry, we decided to stop to grab a coffee instead. Biggest mistake of the night. There, we not only ran into my boss, but two of our mutual friends as well. At the gas station later, we ran into one of my ex-boyfriends who is still insistent we should be together. When we finally decided to hang out in a nearby empty parking lot to drink our coffee, five minuets later two acquaintances pulled up and parked next to us. Although they did not say anything, I’m sure I’ll be getting a hard time from them tomorrow.

Usually we solve this problem by completing the group that I have mentioned in posts past, but the third member of the party is off studying at her universality. Eventually we decided just to give up on our serious talk of travel plans we were originally going to arrange due to sheer number of interruptions,  and decided to make a game of how many people we could run into. Unfortunately we did not accomplish our original purpose, but we had a fun time and now a funny story to share and we likewise adapted out plans.

Leave a Reply

