the pun is greater then the pain

This morning, the universe decided I was going to make friends with a ditch and two strangers. Because I live in the mountains, snowy roads are not usually not an issue for me. I am pretty comfortable driving in icy conditions. Still, shit happens. While I was on my way down to the highway this morning, some idiot came barreling up the road taking up nearly all two lanes.  This forced me to swerve out of the way and ultimately make me end  up in  a ditch. Unfortunately, the snowplow had piled up the equivalent of three feet of snow into the ditch.  This made it impossible for me to free myself from the snowbank.

I sat there for a few seconds debating on the best possible course of action. Despite putting sand under my wheels for traction and switching into 4 wheel drive, I was still a sitting duck. I was pretty annoyed at myself for being stuck in this situation. Although it was not my fault, the feeling of helplessness irritated me.

Despite the frustration, I came to realize being in this situation restored faith in humanity. It felt good to know that almost everyone who passed me on their way down the mountain stopped and asked if they could assist me and made sure I was okay. Some people offered to wait with me while help came, others offered me a ride back to my house. Eventually one of my neighbors drove by and offered to pull me out with his massive truck and toe ropes.  I graciously accepted and it did not take much time to get my own little truck free with the proper equipment.  He and his wife were some of the most relaxed people I have ever met. This was probably a very good thing given my state of annoyed frustration.

After my little blue truck was free, I decided to give up on the day and simply head back home. The young couple teased me and gave me a hard time about skipping school since they had “just freed me so I could continue my important education,” before they departed.

The ironic part about all of this is the fact it is senior ditch day at my high school. This is the day where my entire graduating class decides to take a self proclaimed day off, despite the dismay of administration. If I had simply stayed home and had a relaxing morning, rather then trying to accomplish things, this would ever of happened. Between the time I had attempted to get myself out of the sticky situation and the time when help finally arrived, I had a very dorky and humorous realization.  I was sitting in a DITCH, on senior DITCH DAY. The pun, no matter how stupid or lame, had just made my entire day. I was literally sitting there in my truck unable to stop laughing. I am really glad no one drove up at that moment because they probably would have debated calling an ambulance just in case of head trauma.

Leave a Reply

