no such thing as coincidences

I don’t believe in coincidences. Given that fact, this weekend has been very confusing for me. Recently I have asked for a tiny sign from the universe to assist me with my college search. Usually my empty requests to the universe remain unanswered, but not this weekend.

I know this sounds trivial and silly, but choosing the right school has been a real struggle for me.  Nearly everyone I know has found their dream school and are fully committed.  Then there is me…. Unfortunately, I have found two dream schools. Both schools are complete opposites and both offer very enticing opportunities.

Let’s back up to Friday night. I don’t claim to be the most organized person, especially when it comes to my wardrobe. But I still know what cloths I own. I was getting ready for a chill night with friends and was looking for a comfortable shirt to put on. While rummaging through my drawer I pulled out an oversize  long sleeve CU Boulder tee-shirt. I still have no idea where this came from. I had never seen this shirt before in my life. Still, it happened to be exactly what I needed. It also happened to be my size.  This is literally the most comfortable shirt  I have ever owned. After confronting my parents, they both denied placing it in my drawer. No one else has been in my house within my knowledge. It is pretty obvious that the Admissions office at CU did not sneak into my house and leave random clothing as a bribe, but I am still curious how it got there.I thought I had found my sign from the universe….until breakfast Sunday.

My parents and I went to meet some family friends at a quaint little restaurant near downtown Denver. Jokingly in the parking lot, my dad pointed out a licence plate from my other dream school, Regis University. I thought nothing of it until walking into the restaurant and being seated directly at the table next to none other but Regis’s President Father Fitzgibbons. He proceeded to recognize me immediately as an admitted/ prospective student.

We began to talk and he and his colleagues asked me about how I felt about submitting my acceptance to the school.  When I finally admitted that I hadn’t decided yet, they were quick to offer answers to any questions or concerns I may have had about the school or community. I stood there awkwardly and had to explain that I didn’t have any specific questions to ask. They were so friendly and made me feel a little guilty for not yet accepting their generous invitation to become a part of the Regis University student body.

To be entirely honest I am not sure what is keeping me from making a final decision and it’s driving me crazy.

Leave a Reply

