My hatred of heathrow but love of London 

Heathrow….. For suched a famously awful airport, I never really understood the complaints and frustration associated with it until now. 

I sit here after a sleepless nine hour flight only to learn that because of miscommunication and a workers strike that they overbooked our flight and I now have a five hour layover and two hour flight until we get to reach our final destination of Prague, Czech Republic. Even before we left Denver I knew something was up, even if I did not want to consciously accept it. Usually at check in they print you tickets for all layovers and connections. For some reason the only handed us one and stated that we could pick our other ticket here in heathrow. They pretty much just passed the problem onto someone else and hoped we wouldn’t notice. 

I suppose in retrospect that this isn’t the fault of the London airport…. But it still greatly annoyes me.  It’s lucky they have free wifi or I would not be writing this post.

Despite this minor set back, my flight to London was decent. My family and I chose to fly British airways and I do not regret the decision for three major reasons. One, is that the accents of the flight attendants were simply adorable. Two, tea was never in short supply. The flight attendants waltzed down the isle every hour proclaiming “tea? Would anybody like tea?” in their most perky and happy accents.  And three, British tabloid newspapers are very entertaining. From a design standpoint the size of their headlines are rediculously oversized. But the actual content is simply rediculous and entertains. It rivals that of British television.  It was completely fluff journalism except for  two stories.

Yet possibly one of the scariest situations I have been in yet, and which every traveler has to face, is the possibility of solo seat assignments.  My mom and I discussed worst possible scenarios of who to be stuck next to for nine hours. She said a crying baby would be bad, but I countered that a creepy man with body oder would be worse. As I got on the plane I was relieved to see that I was placed next to a nice lady from east London who was returning from a skiing trip with friends. My mom jokingly told her of my fear and some random British  guy in the next row added “yeah, lucky you didn’t end up next to me.” I honestly wasn’t sure what to say to that…

Its been a very long time since I’ve last been in London. It’s a very modern and fast paced city. To be entirely honest I miss it. If I had another I’d be very tempted to go do some sight seeing. As we descended during our flight the cool and refreshing feeling of spooky London mist brought back memories of my trip here with extended family.  

Leave a Reply

